Hey Jude

I am a huge Beatles fan, and although I could never even contemplate picking a favourite in terms of musical style and talent, I do appear have a soft spot for the one and only Sir Paul McCartney. I unfortunately did not have the pleasure of seeing this performance at the Isle Of Wight Festival this past weekend first hand, but I still felt a twinge of excitement the first time I watched this footage of Macca belting out Hey Jude. It’s not my favourite Beatles hit, but I have to admit, there’s something about the chorus of na-na-na’s towards the end that get me every time. Perhaps because no matter how many times I hear it, following his trademark simplistic opening style, it catches me off guard as it explodes into a passionate, unexpected climax as a mixture of chanting, percussion and Paul’s famous screams surround me.  At the age of 67, he’s proven once again that he can still rock out with the best of them. Sir Paul, I salute you!

This entry was posted in Classic, Gigs, The Sound. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

